NACP Contact Information

Administration

Margaret Briehl, PhD
Contact PI, UACC
(520) 626-6827
mmbriehl@email.arizona.edu
 
Jani Ingram, PhD
Contact PI, NAU
(928) 523-7877
Jani.Ingram@nau.edu

Andrew Kraft, MD
Director of UA Cancer Center, 
UACC (520) 626-9921 
AKraft@uacc.arizona.edu
 

Administrative Staff

Maria Lluria-Prevatt, PhD
Research Administrator, UACC
(520) 626-6979
 
Debora Rodriguez
Administrative Associate, UACC
(520) 626-1635
 
Maria Jackson, MS
Program Manager/Business
Manager and IAC Member, NAU
(928) 523-8383
 
Lily Tso
Administrative Assistant, NAU
(928) 523-8593

 

Developmental Core

Ron Heimark, PhD
Leader, UACC
(520) 626-1913

Jason Wilder, PhD
Leader, NAU
(928) 523-5286
Jason.Wilder@nau.edu
 

Planning and Evaluation Core

Kelly Laurila, MA
Leader
(480) 215-0065
 

Training Core

Margaret Briehl, PhD
Leader, UACC
(520) 626-6827

Hendrik "Dirk" de Heer, PhD
Leader, NAU
(928) 523-1499
Dirk.deHeer@nau.edu
 
Tiffani Begay, MPH
Training Program Coordinator, UACC
(520) 626-8587
 
Sheena Hale, MA
Training Program Coordinator, NAU
 

Outreach Core

Francine Gachupin, PhD, MPH
Leader, UACC
(520) 621-5072
fcgachupin@email.arizona.edu
 
Nicolette Teufel-Shone, PhD
Leader, NAU
(928) 523-2058
 
Carol Goldtooth, MPH
Program Coordinator, CHE, NAU
(928) 523-4292
 
Christina Laukaitis, MD, PhD
Medical Educator, UACC
520-626-5845
 
Morgan Farley
Community Health Research Educator, UACC
(520) 621-5072
 
Breanna Lameman
Community Health Research Educator, UACC
(520) 621-5072
 

Research Projects

 

Helobacter pylori and Stomach Cancer Among Native Americans in Northern Arizona Project

Robin Harris, PhD Co- Leader, UACC
(520) 626-5357
rbharris@email.arizona.edu
Fernando Monroy, PhD Co-Leader, NAU
(928) 523-2031
Fernando.Monroy@nau.edu
 

Namitunatya: A Pilot Study to Determine the Efficacy of Male-Focused Native Navigator to Increase Preventative Care and Cancer Screening for Hopi Men

Ken Batai, PhD
Co-Leader, UACC
(520) 626-7754
kbatai@email.arizona.edu
 
Priscilla Sanderson, PhD
Co-Leader, NAU
(928) 523-6741
Priscilla.Sanderson@nau.edu

 

Improving Shared Decision-Making about Cancer Screening Among American Indian Women Experiencing Intellectual and/or Developmental Diabilities (IDD)

Julie Armin, PhD Co- Leader, UACC
(520) 626-4166
Jarmin@email.arizona.edu
Heather Williamson, PhD Co-Leader, NAU
(928) 523-2031
Heather.Williamson@nau.edu
Julie Baldwin, PhD Co- Leader, NAU
(520) 626-6566
Julie.Baldwin@nau.edu

Physical Activity and Cancer Among Native American Cancer Survivors: A Pilot Study-Preliminary Focus Group and Interview Findings 

Jennifer W. Bea, PhD
Co-Leader, UACC
(520) 626-0912
jbea@uacc.arizona.edu

Anna Schwartz, PhD
Co-Leader, NAU
 
Hendrik deHeer, PhD, MPH
Co-Leader, NAU
(928) 523-1499
Hendrik.deHeer@nau.edu
 

Internal Advisory Committee

Karen Francis Begay, PhD
Speical Advisor to the President, Native American Affairs, UA
(520) 626-9809
 
Patricia S. Pohl, PT, PhD
Professor & Chair, Physical Therapy, NAU
(602) 827-2427
 
Manley Begay, Jr.EdD
Professor Applied Indigenous Studies Department, NAU
928-523-6437
 
Chad Hamill, PhD
Assisant Professor of Ethnomusicology and Co-Chair for Native Americans, NAU
(928) 523-3849
 
Debera Thomas, PhD
Dean, School of Nursing, NAU
(928) 523-2656
 
Paul Jagodzinski, PhD
Dean, College of Engineering, Forestry & Natural Sciences, NAU
(928) 523-2408
 
Cyndi Thomson, PhD
Professor Health Promotions Sciences, Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
(520) 621-2650
 
Jennie Joe, PhD
Professor, Family and Community Medicine, UACC
(520) 621-5075
jrjoe@u.arizona.edu

Francine Gauchpin, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Health Disparities Program, UACC
(520) 621-5072
fcgachupin@email.arizona.edu
 
Laura Huenneke, PhD
NAU
Laura.Huenneke@nau.edu
 
Frank VonHippel, PhD
Professor, Biological Sciences, NAU
(928) 523-6768
fcgachupin@email.arizona.edu

 

Program Steering Committee

Thomas Becker, PhD
Oregon Health & Science
University
(503) 494-1175
 
Isabel Scarinci, PhD
University of Alabama Birmingham
(205) 975-7177
 
Norman Drinkwater
University of Wisconsin Cancer Center
(602) 262-7992
 
Raymond Reid
John Hopkins Study Center
(505) 368-4073
 
Shiraz Mishra, PhD
University of New Mexico Cancer Center
(505) 925-6085
 
Raymond Bergan, MD
Oregan Health & Science University
(503)494-5325
 
LeeAnn Bailey, M.B.B.S, Ph.D., M.S.
Integrated Networks Branch, Chief
(240) 276-5337