Joe G N "Skip" Garcia, MD

Merlin K. DuVal Professor, Medicine
Professor, Physiology
Phone Number: 
(520) 626-1197
Professional Bio: 

Dr. Garcia is an authority on the genetic basis of inflammatory lung disease (with an emphasis on health disparities) and on the mechanistic basis of lung vascular permeability. Using bench-to-bedside approaches, his lab has explored novel methods to prevent vascular leak and to restore endothelial cell barrier function and vascular integrity. This expertise in lung inflammation and vascular permeability provides a natural linkage to interrogation of lung vascular contribution to the development of lung metastases.

Leveraging their genomic expertise, in recent years, Dr. Garcia's lab has identified vascular genes whose products are key participants in inflammatory lung injury that also play a role in cancer development.  They have developed lung endothelial inflammatory gene expression profiles as well as diagnostic gene signatures influenced by MYLK and NAMPT that impact lung and breast cancer prognosis. This work with NAMPT led to development of a therapeutic NAMPT neutralizing antibody that has shown promise in treating lung cancer, melanoma, and chronic lymphocytic leukemia. 

Finally, Dr. Garcia's lab is also interested in the untoward effect of thoracic radiation and has been examining strategies designed to attenuate radiation–induced pneumonits, fibrosis and vascular leak. These collaborative and highly translational cancer research efforts have bolstered the overall mission of the University of Arizona Cancer Center.

Research Information

Research Program: 
Cancer Biology
Selected Publications: 

Professional Information

Positions and Honors: 


2014 - 2015       Interim Dean, College of Medicine, The University of Arizona
2013 - 2016       Senior Vice President for Health Sciences, The University of Arizona
2013 - current    Dr. Merlin K. DuVal Professor of Medicine, University of Arizona
2010 - current    Founder and President, Aqualung Therapeutics Corp.
2010 - 2013       Earl M. Bane Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology & Bioengineering, U. of Illinois, Chicago
2010 - 2012       Vice Chancellor for Research, University of Illinois at Chicago
2010 - 2012       Vice President for Health Affairs, University of Illinois
2005 - 2010       Dr. Lowell T. Coggeshall Professor & Chairman, Department of Medicine, Univ. of Chicago
1998 - 2005       Dr. David Marine Professor of Medicine, Biomedical Engineering & Environmental Health Sciences;
                               Director Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Johns Hopkins University
1992 - 1998       Dr. Calvin H. English Professor of Medicine, Physiology and Biophysics, Indiana University
1988 - 1992       Associate Professor of Medicine, Physiology and Biophysics, Indiana University
1985 - 1988       Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Texas Health Center at Tyler, Texas
1984 - 1985       NIH Postdoctoral Fellow, Dept of Physiology, Albany Medical College, New York
1983 - 1984       Fellow, Division of Pulmonary Diseases, Albany Medical College, New York
1980 - 1983       Intern, Resident, Department of Internal Medicine, University of Iowa


2015                    American Thoracic Society: Distinguished Leadership Award  
2011 -  current    National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine) National Academies (elected)
2009                    Innovations in Diversity Award (Association of Professors in Medicine)
2005 - current     Association of American Physicians (elected)
2004 - current     Gordon Research Conference, Chair (2004, 2006): Endothelial Cell Phenotypes in Health & Disease
2004 - current     American Clinical and Climatological Society (elected)
2003 - 2005        Howard Hughes Medical Institute Scientific Review Board
2003 - 2005        American Thoracic Society, Chair: Pulmonary Circulation Assembly (elected)
2003                    American Thoracic Society: Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award  
2002                    David M. Levine Excellence in Mentoring Award, Johns Hopkins University, Department of Medicine
1999 - current     Interurban Clinical Club (elected)
1996 - current     American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) (elected)
1996- 2007         Central Society for Clinical Research, Secretary-Treasurer, Councilor, President

Academic Information

Medical School: 
University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Undergraduate School: 
University of Dallas, Irving, Texas